The Past Week

Blog Entry

I’ve been busy wrapping up my final weeks in Copenhagen and my Junior Year Abroad, and I’ve been doing so much that I can’t even keep up with blog posts. I still owe Morocco a grand blog entry, but that will have to wait for a while. Last week I finished up Watercolor, presented my final Architecture project (a year-round boat rental on the Copenhagen harbour), and of course had some adventures with my friends. The pictures below are just a taste of my past week or so: celebrating in the Botanical Gardens, finishing my model, going to Malmö, Sweden for the Öresundsfestival (Fallulah, Kashmir, When Saints Go Machine), and a quick shot of my new ink. Rejse, or trip, journey, voyage.

As I said, I’ve been doing so much that I can’t even keep up. I’m currently writing for a deck overlooking the old town of Nice, France. Updates soon!

hilsen,

Sam

20130512-090131.jpg

20130512-090141.jpg

20130512-090149.jpg

20130512-090155.jpg

20130512-090202.jpg

20130512-090215.jpg

20130512-090221.jpg

20130512-090228.jpg

20130512-090236.jpg

20130512-090243.jpg

2 thoughts on “The Past Week

  1. Hey Sam, I am an architecture student that will be studying at DIS this fall. I just received an email from DIS asking people to volunteer to live with a host family. I am worried about the late nights and long commute to and from school. How was the commute for you? Did you bike or use public transportation? How was dealing with late nights when living with a family? Thanks for all of your help. I loved reading about your study abroad experience.

    1. Hey Olivia!

      I was in Copenhagen for the full year, and I lived with host families both semesters. My fall semester host family lived in Rødovre (west of Copenhagen), which was about 35, 40 minutes away. I rode my host family’s bike to the train station, took the train into downtown and walked to DIS from there. And yes, Danes commute/ride their bike in freezing cold weather. My spring semester I lived in Hellerup (North), and walking to the station, taking the train, and walking to DIS took maybe 20 minutes, if that.
      I didn’t mind the commutes because A, you have time to read, B, watch people, or C, catch up on last minute homework. If you live close enough though, everyone rides their bike, and I know you can rent bikes through DIS (something I regret not doing – biking is a large part of Danish culture).

      I’m a homebody, so I loved going home to eat (especially since my host families were great cooks) and spending some time at home. When studio got crazy (especially towards the end of the semester), I just lived in studio 24/7 and my host family was fine with it. You can easily balance seeing your host family and still keep up with studio culture + demands. I had friends in my studio that had to commute a ways to go home, so they would pack a dinner and eat in studio some nights. You learn to work around it, spend time in studios on the weekend so you can go home for dinner on the weeknights, etc.

      If you love home cooked meals, want to get to know Danes, want to separate yourself from typical American dorm life, and want to feel like you ‘live’ in Copenhagen versus just ‘study’ there, then a host family is for you.

      If you have any more questions, just email me: samuel.hosman@gmail.com. I had an incredible DIS experience and love taking about it.

      Thanks for reading Olivia!

Leave a Reply

